Rother District Council

-	Council
-	20 September 2021
-	Chief Executive
-	Political Groups – Review of Committee Seats
	-

Recommendation: It be **RESOLVED:** That the revised political make-up of the Council be noted and the consequential appointment of Members on the Committees be agreed.

Introduction

1. Since the Council's last meeting there has been a change to the political makeup of the Council; this report advises Council on the consequential matters. It is also noted that the Labour Group Members have confirmed that they now wish to be known as the Labour and Co-operative Party.

Political Groups

- 2. On the 3 August 2021, Councillor Mrs Deirdre Earl-Williams gave formal notice of her wish to leave the Association of Independents (AoI) with immediate effect and not be affiliated with any political group serving on the Council. Any change in political make-up of the Council triggers a review of the allocation of committee seats in accordance with the proportional representation requirements of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989.
- 3. The membership of the Political Groups on the Council is confirmed as follows:

Group	Seats
Conservative	14
Association of Independents	11
Liberal Democrats & Green	8
Labour and Co-operative	3
Non Group Member (Pebsham & St. Michaels)	1
Non Group Member (Collington)	1
Total Seats	38

- 4. Following the calculations of the allocation of committee seats, it is confirmed that the Conservative Group are entitled to one more seat overall and the Aol are entitled to one less seat than currently allocated. The relevant Group Leaders will advise at the meeting which seat will be given up on either the Planning or Licensing and General Purposes Committee by the Aol and allocated to a Conservative Member.
- 5. A replacement substitute Member for the AoI is also required for the Licensing and General Purposes Committee as substitutes must be from the same political Group. The AoI have also indicated their intention to allocate one of their seats on the Overview and Scrutiny Committee to Councillor Mrs Earl-Williams – this will require a nem con vote (no Member voting against).

Malcolm Johnston, Chief Executive